Character Development, Education, Elementary, Identity, Intentional Living, Life Lesson, Personal Life, School, Teaching

Miracle in the School Gym

I discovered the most amazing thing this week while I was substitute teaching.  Normally I only sub in a classroom but I was asked to be a PE Aide this week.  So I became a substitute coach for a day.  During our first class, the coach was approached by two little girls who were complaining that their feet hurt and they didn’t think they could participate.

So she called me over and asked me to take both girls into the PE office and find them some shoes.  I found 4 or 5 cases of quality boys and girls running shoes in various shapes and sizes.  All were super trendy, cute and brand new in the box.  We had to try on a couple of sizes, but we ultimately got each girl the perfect pair of sneakers.  The smile that involuntarily covered their face was priceless, as well as contagious.  What fun I had!

That afternoon, I was able to help another student do exactly the same thing.  I had been quiet in the morning when I first arrived, but by this time, I wanted answers.  I began to ask the coach about all the shoes.  I found out that years ago, she told her bible study friends about the Kindergarten through 2nd graders she works with that don’t have proper shoes.  They all decided they could do something about it and have been giving the coach money to buy shoes for kids ever since.  She waits until the shoes go on clearance (so she can get as many pair as possible) and then brings them to school to bless her students.

No one knows about her kindness unless they have personally benefited from her generosity.  It’s not a school policy.  She gets no fame or notoriety from giving.  She simply saw a need . . . and filled it!  Way to go, coach.  You made my day.  But more than that, you gave hope to three families in one day.  I didn’t do any of the giving or receiving but I am sure that I will never forget it.  Thanks, coach, for challenging me to keep my eyes open and my heart available.

Standard

2 thoughts on “Miracle in the School Gym

  1. One person, one idea, one Sunday school class . . . many people blessed! What ideas are we passing up that could spark others to pitch in and help, and in return bless others?

    Thanks for sharing, April!

Leave a comment